September 30, 2015

Today in Mrs. Davis’ class I had the opportunity to work with Jacob on the “Words Their Way” spelling test. In this test I observed that Jacob is fairly good at picking up the beginning sound in a word, but not once did he spell a word correctly or even represent each sound. I assume this is because of the amount of focus it takes to select the right letter. An example of this is is when I said ‘remember’ Jacob wrote ‘rmre’. Something I found interesting is whenever I gave him a word with the ‘dr’ sound he wrote a ‘j’. For example, I gave the word ‘drown’ and he wrote ‘jon’. Based on this test, and guidance from Mrs. Davis,  I have decided to work on consonant-vowel sounds with him through flash cards. I will write on each flash card things such as ‘ba’ and ‘da’. I will pair every vowel with every cons anent, this will help him recognizing sounds and will improve his spelling and reading.

Also while I was in this class a fluency lesson was taught. Students were asked to choral read. During this Jacob would not read aloud even with prompting, so after the lesson I brought him over to read the passage with me. He was willing to echo read and I think this is because he is embarrassed to be wrong, therefore he wants the reading to be modeled to him.

Leave a comment